KHS hosts 2024 Commencement

The Keokuk High School hosted the 2024 Commencement at 2 p.m. on May 19 in Wright Fieldhouse at KHS.

“Each and every one of us is different and unique in a number of ways and I believe that those differences are what is going to be what takes our class so far,” Erich Profeta, senior class president, said. “I know the power our class holds to do our own great things.”

Senior Class Vice President Jiya Patel welcomed the graduates and those that attended. Addresses were presented by Erich Profeta, senior class president, and London Wray, student body president, and Heidi Rose, the National Honor Society vice president, provided the farewell.

“As Chiefs we hold ourselves to the highest standards of excellence in everything we do,” Nathan Harrison, KHS principal, said. “Remember being a Chief means being a champion. … Let us be proud of who we are and where we are from.”

Additional speakers included the final remarks to the senior class by Dr. Kathy Dinger, Jennifer Roederer, KHS associate principal, Seth Davis, KHS assistant principal, and students were recognized for earning the Presidential Academic Awards, the Top Chief Awards, the senior honor students and Southeastern Community College graduates.

Top Chief Academic Honors, which are students that had a four-year 4.0 GPA while at KHS, went to Chase Eckland, Patel and Wray.

Presidential Award for Educational Excellence went to Ayden O’Connor and Patel.

Citizenship “K” awards for the 2023-24 academic year went to seniors Mehl Wright and Wray, juniors Hannah Karre and Eli Stevens, sophomores Kendra Boatman and Carter Killoren and freshmen Baylee Billings and Lincoln Wray.

The Keokuk School Board also announced the highest number of graduates in five years at KHS, the board includes Clint Wray, Lacy Ames, David Barrett, LeAnn Clifford, Kim Wyatt, Bonnie Peevler and Laurie Mendenhall.

The KHS band and combined choirs performed and Killoren and Jocelyn Mallonee performed the National Anthem.