Lee County Writing Winners 2017-2018

The Lee County Writing Association held a celebration for the winners of their annual writing contest at the Keokuk Middle School media center. First place authors read their work to a packed house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Local winners:


Grade First Place Honorable Mention
K Gavin Claus AJ Hutcherson
1 Ryan McDonald Hayden Dochterman

Alexis Perry

2 Bella Smith Bella Mills
3 Amelia Marshall Ridley Delperdang

Olivia Claus

4 Isaac Schultz Christine Condren

Ryan Bair

5 Anna Rowe Alli Ames

Emma Cole

6 Jiya Patel Diego Garcia
7 Claire Coffield Lily Gobart
8 Layden Denning Natalie Ames
9 Emma Evans
11 Gabriel Jones



Grade First Place Honorable Mention
K Lydia Bailey AJ Hutcherson
1 Hayden Dochterman Ryan McDonald
2 Carl Hausch Hailey Lambert
3 Darian Bevington Amelia Marshall

4 Jaxon Clark Rachel Olsen
5 Emma Cole Gracie Thompson
6 Julio Gifford Hadley Rohlfs

Chase Eckland

Kyla Muston

7 Claire Coffield Patton Delperdang
8 Kaylie Evans Abby Wolter
9 Carson Sargent Caelan Denning
11 Philip Dunlap Alex Wolter

Gabriel Jones


All first place entries were forwarded to the state competition for the Iowa Reading Association​. The following students placed at the state level.

Kinder – Lydia Bailey, 1st Place

2nd Grade – Carl Hausch, 2nd Place

7th Grade – Claire Coffield, 3rd place

9th Grade – Carson Sargent, 1st Place

11th Grade – Philip Dunlap, 3rd place


Kinder – Gavin Claus, 3rd Place

1st Grade – Ryan McDonald, 1st Place

3rd Grade – Amelia Marshall, 2nd Place

6th Grade – Jiya Patel, 2nd Place

7th Grade – Claire Coffield 1st Place

9th Grade – Emma Evans, 2nd Place

11th Grade -Gabriel Jones, 1st place